Punjab Kings defeat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 5 wickets


Last updated on July 4th, 2022 at 08:20 am

Highlights from the IPL 2022 match 3 between Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Punjab Kings (PBKS) defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by five wickets in their opening encounter of the season. Catch the RCB vs. PBKS Highlights:

IPL 2022 Match 3 Highlights Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)| IPL Today Match

Highlights, PBKS vs RCB IPL 2022

Punjab Kings beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 5 wickets.

Speaking about how was the third match of the IPL 2022 panned out.

Hello and welcome to GoogleSports Highlights of the third match of the Indian Premier League 2022 between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals from the  DY Patil Stadium in Navi in Mumbai.

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s bowling came back to catch them in trouble again as they failed to defend a target of 206 runs against the Punjab Kings in their maiden assignment in IPL 2022. 

Power-hitters Shahrukh Khan and Odean Smith stayed unbeaten on 24 and 25 runs respectively, as RCB endured a five-wicket defeat in the third match of IPL 2022 at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

RCB’s bowling again ascertained to be their Achilles heel as PBKS scripted their joint-highest blooming run chase in IPL history.

Further skipper Mayank Agarwal won the toss as PBKS choose to field first. RCB captain Faf du Plessis proceeded from where he left off in the last season how he slammed 88 runs off just 57 deliveries which included three fours and seven sixes. 

Moreover, Faf du Plessis’s opening partner Anuj Rawat scored 21 runs whereas former skipper Virat Kohli mustered 41 runs off 29 balls. 

Wicketkeeper-batter Dinesh Karthik played a whirlwind inning of 32 runs off just 14 deliveries with three fours and like many maximums, assisting RCB to post a massive total of 205/2 in 20 overs.

PBKS vs RCB IPL 2022 Match Details

TOSSPunjab Kings Won The Toss
VENUEDY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai
PK Captain Rishabh Pant
RCB Captain Rohit Sharma
UmpiresNitin Menon (IND) and Yeshwant Barde (IND
Match refereeManu Nayyar (IND)

Punjab Kings(PBKS) Batsmen Scorecard 2022

BattingR B 4’s 6’sS/R
Mayank Agarwal (c)
c Shahbaz Ahmed b Wanindu Hasaranga
Shikhar Dhawan
c Anuj Rawat b Harshal Patel
Bhanuka Rajapaksa (w)
c Shahbaz Ahmed b Mohammed Siraj
Liam Livingstone
c Anuj Rawat b Akash Deep
Raj Bawa
lbw b Mohammed Siraj
Shahrukh Khan
Not out
Odean Smith
|Not out


David Willey30280009.33
Mohammed Siraj405920014.75
Shahbaz Ahmed1060006.00
Akash Deep303810012.66
Wanindu Hasaranga404010110.00
Harshal Patel40361059.00

Extras :22 Runs (B: 0, LB: 1, NB: 0, WD: 21, P: 0)


Faf Du Plessis (c)
c Shahrukh Khan b Arshdeep Singh
Anuj Rawat
b Rahul Chahar
Virat Kohli
not out
Virat Kohli
not out

Punjab Kings Bowling

Sandeep Sharma43709.2510
Arshdeep Singh43117.7511
Odean Smith4520139
Rahul Chahar42215.58
Harpreet Brar338012.675
Liam Livingstone1140141

Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)| IPL Today Match Graphs Manhattan

Punjab-Kings-vs-Royal-Challengers-Bangalore graphs
source https://www.punjabkingsipl.in/scores/punjab-kings-vs-royal-challengers-bangalore-kpbc03272022208290

However, here are some of the important stats and scores from the 3rd match between Punjab Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League 2022:

Virat Kohli occurred in his 200th innings in the IPL.

 Faf du Plessis and Kohli experienced the third-highest second-wicket partnership (118) for RCB against PBKS in IPL history. 

Chris Gayle and Kohli amplified 136 runs in 2013 and 119 runs in the 2012 edition against the Punjab-based team.

Far Du Plessis reported the fourth-highest score (88) by a player on his captaincy debut in the cash-rich league

Dinesh Karthik obtained 400 fours in the Indian Premier League.

Far Du Plessis completed 3000 runs in the league. He reached the under takin in his 94th innings and became the joint third-fastest player with David Warner to get the winnerprize..


 RCB marked over 200 runs for the 21st time, most for any IPL team. 

Chennai Super Kings is second on the list, having scored above 200 runs 19 times in the league.

Faf Du Plessis also accomplished the landmark of 100 IPL sixes.

Punjab Kings joined CSK and KKR in the list of the greatest successful run chase by a team against RCB in the IPL. CSK achieved the same target of 206 twice in 2012 and 2018 while KKR did it in the year 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.